Bullion – Loop The Loop

Bullion, (real name Nathan Jenkins), has released his debut album ‘Loop The Loop’. This is the first album released by Bullion himself, from his own record label DEEK Recordings. He has, however, previously released singles and EPs with other labels such as Young Turks and R&S Records. In Loop the Loop, Jenkins works with other artists such as Sarah Anderson (strings), Sampha Sisay (vocals), Shabaka Hutchings (saxophone) and more. His record label and new album are proof that he is a collaborative artist, and he does this very well.

Opening the album is ‘Dip Your Foot’, a slow and sweet song with plenty of string instruments and very few lyrics. With its electric but chilled out vibe, this track is easy listening and a promising start to the album. ‘Health’ is more of an eccentric pop song, with electronic sounds and sharp vocals in Jenkins’ distinct English accent. This song is a little short, but works well with the rest of the album. ‘My Lar’ slowly builds with a melodious guitar and keyboard. There are very little vocals in this track, which helps you to marvel at the music. The song ends with slightly jazzy undertones from the bass guitar. ‘Unless’ has an upbeat electrical sound to it, with beautiful soft vocal harmonies. ‘Self Capering’ is the next track, which has an oriental vibe to it. The high pitched wail of the guitar and the sounds of bongos invoke images of exotic far away places, transporting you with music. ‘Never is the Change’ starts off with a strong, fast beat. It leans more towards a dance track than any of the others on the album.

‘Speed’ opens with a smooth sounding saxophone, giving it a jazzy feel. This song, however, is slow starting, with a very long, repetitive intro. Once the vocals begin around half way through the five minute track, the rest of the song is of the same high standard as the rest of the album. ‘Get To The Heart of It’ is another electronic track with slow, monotone vocals. It is simple and calming. ‘Palm 2’ is the next track, which is a pop/electric song with heaps of keyboard playing and simplistic vocals. ‘Peep Hole’ open with quiet guitar playing, which then gradually builds with layers of drums, electronic sounds, and high pitched vocals. The song is cleverly written, and one of my favourites on this album. ‘Loop the Loop’ comes next, which has an electronic pop style with a hint of funk. The echoey vocals give it an extra something special. ‘It’s No Spirit’ has a mystifying sound. The long, drawn out vocals paired with electronic melodies make this a very individual track. ‘FoYoC’ is the final track. It starts off with a summery guitar sequence which is pleasant and upbeat. This continues throughout the song, and slowly fades out, rounding off the album perfectly.

Loop The Loop by Bullion is truly a work of art. The relaxed, chilled out feel to the whole album appeals to a wide audience, and could be enjoyed at any age. Bullion provides a new listening experience which says “this is not about me, this is about music”, and he has clearly put everything he has into making this album. The overall vibe is that of a cool underground club, and listening to Bullion’s music makes you feel like part of that. This is an exceptional start for Bullion, and I hope to see more from him in the future.

Bullion – Loop The Loop = 9/10


Dionne Thompson